The Hurt Locker dominates Film Critics awards

The Hurt Locker dominates Film Critics awards

The war movie was named Best Picture, while Kathryn Bigelow won the Best Director nod and its star, Jeremy Renner, landed the Best Actor trophy.

French star Yolande Moreau was named Best Actress at the annual prizegiving in New York, for her portrayal of artist Seraphine de Senlis in Seraphine.

The Best Supporting Actor honour was split between Christoph Waltz for his role in Inglourious Basterds and Paul Schneider for his performance in Bright Star, while Mo’Nique landed the Best Supporting Actress award for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire.

The list of main winners is as follows:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)

Best Actor: Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker)

Best Actress: Yolande Moreau (Seraphine)

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds) and Paul Schneider (Bright Star)

Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique (Precious)

Best Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen (A Serious Man)

Best Foreign-Language Film: Summer Hours

Best Nonfiction Film: The Beaches of Agnes

Best Cinematography: Christian Berger (The White Ribbon)

Best Production Design: Nelson Lowry (Fantastic Mr. Fox).