Zwick lands top Academy post after election tie

Director Zwick will serve his first term on the Board of Governors for the next year.

He’ll join Martha Coolidge and Curtis Hanson as the third governor representing the branch.

Zwick’s election battle with Cates made history – it was the first time in Academy history that there was a tie in the balloting.

The 2009-2010 Academy Board of Governors also features Annette Bening, Tom Hanks and Henry Winkler.