2004 Independent Spirit Awards Nominees Announced

The nominations for the 2004 IFP Independent Spirit Awards are in, and with more submissions than ever before in the ceremony’s history, it looks like a hot race.

Jeff Kleeman, IFP committee chair, had this to say: “With more submissions and less time then ever before, the Nominating Committee watched and discussed over 190 films in six weeks — an act of extreme devotion that proved to be tremendously rewarding.”

Dawn Hudson, IFP executive producer, added that this year’s batch of nominees is particularly diverse, and commended the fact there are more highly talented women writers and directors emerging on the independent film scene, including nominees Shari Springer Berman, Sofia Coppola and Catherine Hardwicke.

Films that have been nominated for IFP Independent Spirit Awards were selected based on their original and provocative subject matter, uniqueness of vision, and financial characteristics, including total budget, individual compensation, and percentage of independent financing.

Last year’s ISA winners included the film Far From Heaven (best feature), Julianne Moore (best director and lead actress), and Dennis Quaid (best supporting actor).

The 2004 IFP Independent Spirit Awards ceremony will air live on Feb. 28 at 5 p.m. EST on the Independent Film Channel, and will be broadcast at 10 p.m. EST/PST on Bravo.

The nominees for the 2004 IFP Independent Spirit Awards are (by category):

Best Feature

American Splendor
In America
Lost in Translation
Raising Victor Vargas
Shattered Glass

Best Director

Shari Springer Berman & Robert Pulcini – American Splendor
Sofia Coppola – Lost in Translation
Jim Sheridan – In America
Peter Sollett – Raising Victor Vargas
Gus Van Sant – Elephant

Best Screenplay

American Splendor – Writers: Shari Springer Berman & Robert Pulcini
Lost in Translation – Writer: Sofia Coppola
A Mighty Wind – Writers: Christopher Guest & Eugene Levy and the cast of A Mighty Wind
Pieces of April – Writer: Peter Hedges
Shattered Glass – Writer: Billy Ray

Best First Feature

Bomb the System – Director: Adam Bhala Lough; Producers: Ben Rekhi, Sol Tryon
House of Sand and Fog – Director: Vadim Perelman; Producers: Michael London, Vadim Perelman
Monster – Director: Patty Jenkins; Producers: Mark Damon, Donald Kushner, Clark Peterson, Charlize Theron, Brad Wyman
Quattro Noza – Director: Joey Curtis; Producer: Fredric King
Thirteen – Director: Catherine Hardwicke; Producers: Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Michael London

John Cassavetes Award

Anne B. Real – Director: Lisa France; Writers: Lisa France, Antonio Macia, Producers: Josselyne Herman, Luis Moro, Jeanine Rohn
Better Luck Tomorrow – Director: Justin Lin; Writers: Ernesto M. Foronda, Justin Lin, Fabian Marquez; Producers: Julie Asato, Ernesto M. Foronda, Justin Lin
Pieces of April – Writer/Director: Peter Hedges; Producers: Alexis Alexanian, John S. Lyons, Gary Winick
The Station Agent – Writer/Director: Thomas McCarthy; Producers: Mary Jane Skalski, Robert May, Kathryn Tucker
Virgin – Writer/Director: Deborah Kampmeier; Producer:Sarah Schenck

Best First Screenplay

Blue Car– Writer: Karen Moncrieff
Monster – Writer: Patty Jenkins
Raising Victor Vargas – Writers: Peter Sollett and Eva Vives
The Station Agent – Writer: Thomas McCarthy
Thirteen – Writers: Catherine Hardwicke & Nikki Reed

Best Female Lead

Agnes Bruckner – Blue Car
Zooey Deschanel – All the Real Girls
Samantha Morton – In America
Elisabeth Moss – Virgin
Charlize Theron – Monster

Best Male Lead

Peter Dinklage – The Station Agent
Paul Giamatti – American Splendor
Sir Ben Kingsley – House of Sand and Fog
Bill Murray – Lost in Translation
Lee Pace – Soldier’s Girl

Best Supporting Female

Shohreh Aghdashloo – House of Sand and Fog
Sarah Bolger – In America
Patricia Clarkson – Pieces of April
Hope Davis – The Secret Lives of Dentists
Frances McDormand – Laurel Canyon

Best Supporting Male

Judah Friedlander – American Splendor
Troy Garity – Soldier’s Girl
Djimon Hounsou – In America
Alessandro Nivola – Laurel Canyon
Peter Sarsgaard – Shattered Glass

Best Debut Performance

Anna Kendrick – Camp
Judy Marte – Raising Victor Vargas
Victor Rasuk – Raising Victor Vargas
Nikki Reed – Thirteen
Janice Richardson – Anne B. Real

Best Cinematography

Elephant – Harris Savides
In America – Declan Quinn
Northfork – M. David Mullen
Quattro Noza – Derek Cianfrance
Shattered Glass – Mandy Walker

Best Foreign Film

City of God (Brazil)
Lilya 4-Ever (Denmark)
The Magdalene Sisters (England/Ireland)
The Triplets of Belleville (France)
Whale Rider (New Zealand)

Best Documentary

The Fog of War
Mayor of the Sunset Strip
My Architect
OT: our town
Power Trip