Angelina Jolie to be Honored by American Society of Cinematographers


Angelina Jolie is to receive the 2018 American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Board of Governors Award.

The First They Killed My Father filmmaker will be presented with the accolade at the ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement on 17 February (18).

Angelina Jolie sets a high standard. She is a true artist, with a strong vision and collaborative spirit,” ASC president Kees van Oostrum said in a statement of the actress, director, and activist. “She has also entertained us through her work, but more importantly has brought significant social issues to our attention.”

The honor is the only prize given out at the ceremony that is not specifically earmarked for a cinematographer.

Previous honorees chosen by the ASC’s board include Ridley Scott, Barbra Streisand, Harrison Ford, Julia Roberts, Christopher Nolan, Warren Beatty, Francis Ford Coppola, Sally Field, Morgan Freeman, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg.

The 32nd Annual ASC Awards take place at The Ray Dolby Ballroom in Los Angeles, with cinematographers from movies including Dunkirk, Blade Runner 2049, Darkest Hour and The Shape of Water all nominated for prizes.