Doctor Who doubles up at Britain’s National Television Awards

Doctor Who and TV personalities Anthony Mcpartlin and Declan Donnelly (aka Ant & Dec) were the big winners at the National Television Awards in London on Wednesday (22Jan14), scooping four of the night’s most coveted honours. Doctor Who was named Best Drama and the show’s former star Matt Smith picked up the Best Drama Performance trophy, while Ant & Dec landed the Best Entertainment Presenter award for the 13th time and also claimed the Best Entertainment Programme honour for their I’m a Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here! show.
The duo was also handed a special prize to mark a 25-year TV career.
British soap Coronation Street was also a double winner – the show’s Julie Hesmondhalgh, whose cancer-stricken character Hayley Cropper committed suicide on Monday night’s (20Jan14) episode, won the Best Serial Drama Performance accolade, while the programme was named Best Serial Drama.
The full list of National Television Awards winners is:
Best Factual Entertainment Programme – Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs
Best Entertainment Programme – I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here
Best Documentary Series – Educating Yorkshire
Best Newcomer – Khali Best
Best Drama Performance – Matt Smith
Best Daytime Show – This Morning
Best Comedy – Mrs Brown’s Boys
Best Serial Drama Performance – Julie Hesmondhalgh (Coronation Street)
Best TV Detective – Benedict Cumberbatch
Best Entertainment Presenter – Ant & Dec
Best Drama – Doctor Who
Best Serial Drama – Coronation Street
Landmark Award – Ant & Dec
Best Talent Show – Strictly Come Dancing