Downton Abbey stars to do battle at National Television Awards

The cast of Downton Abbey will battle among themselves to land the Drama Performance prize at the U.K.’s National Television Awards next year (14). Dame Maggie Smith, Michelle Dockery, Jim Carter and Hugh Bonneville are all nominated in the category, which has a 29 nominees.
They will be pitted against the likes of Max Irons (The White Queen), Jeremy Piven (Mr Selfridge), Damian Lewis (Homeland), and Matt Smith (Doctor Who).
Downton Abbey is also up for the Drama award along with a raft of other shows, including Homeland, Mr Selfridge, Luther, The Fall, Call The Midwife, Doctor Who and The White Queen.
Bosses of the prizegiving have introduced a new category, TV Detective of the Year, in honour of Britain’s obsession with crime shows – Benedict Cumberbatch’s turn as Sherlock Holmes, David Suchet’s longrunning role of Hercule Poirot and David Tennant’s hard hitting portrayal of troubled DI Hardy in Broadchurch are all up for the trophy.
Fans can vote to choose their winners, which will be announced at the O2 Arena in London on 22 January (14).