Geeks Honor Tim Allen, Etc.

“The Matrix,” “Being John Malkovich,” “The Sixth Sense” and “The Green Mile” — four films either shunned or relegated to the technical categories at the Academy Awards — were bestowed with the most prestigious trophies from the sci-fi geek world Tuesday night, named the top flicks at the 26th annual Saturn Awards. In other un-Oscar-like news, Tim Allen was named best actor (for “Galaxy Quest”). Christina Ricci took best actress honors for “Sleepy Hollow.”

The festivities here at the tony Park Hyatt hotel were attended by sci-fi and movie icons ranging from Peter Fonda to Martin Landau to Sean Young to Katharine Helmond, and on down the list.

Here’s a rundown of the 2000 Saturn Awards winners (note that some of the A list winners, such as Christina Ricci, Michael Clarke Duncan, etc., weren’t present to accept their awards in person):

BEST SCIENCE-FICTION FILM: “The Matrix” BEST FANTASY FILM: “Being John Malkovich” BEST HORROR FILM: “The Sixth Sense” BEST ACTION/ADVENTURE/THRILLER: “The Green Mile” BEST ACTOR: Tim Allen, “Star Quest” BEST ACTRESS: Christina Ricci, “Sleepy Hollow” BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Patricia Clarkson, “The Green Mile” BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Michael Clarke Duncan, “The Green Mile” BEST PERFORMANCE BY A YOUNGER ACTOR: Haley Joel Osment, “The Sixth Sense” BEST DIRECTION: Andy and Larry Wachowski, “The Matrix” BEST WRITING: Charles Kaufman, “Being John Malkovich” BEST MUSIC: Danny Elfman, “Sleepy Hollow” BEST COSTUME: “Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace” BEST MAKEUP: “The Mummy” BEST SPECIAL EFFECTS: “Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace” BEST NETWORK TV SERIES: “Now and Again” (CBS) BEST CABLE/SYNDICATED SERIES: “Stargate: SG1” (MGM TV/Showtime) BEST SINGLE TV SHOW: “Storm of the Century (ABC) BEST TV ACTOR: David Boreanaz, “Angel” (WB) BEST TV ACTRESS: Margaret Colin, “Now and Again” (CBS) BEST TV SUPPORTING ACTOR: David Haysbert, “Now and Again” (CBS) BEST TV SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Justina Vail, “Seven Days” (UPN) THE GEORGE PAL MEMORIAL AWARD: Douglas Z. Wick THE PRESIDENT’S AWARD: Richard Donner THE LIFE CAREER AWARD: Dick Van Dyke THE LIFE CAREER AWARD: George Barris THE SERVICE AWARD: Jeffrey Walker