L.A. Film Crix Pick “Splendor”

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association on Wednesday named the quirky dramedy American Splendor best picture of 2003, and The Lord of the Rings director Peter Jackson was voted best director. Trophies will be handed out at an awards ceremony Jan. 26 at the St. Regis Hotel in Los Angeles.

With no picture winning more than two awards, however, there was no runaway victor. The three double-winners include American Splendor, which also took the screenplay award for writer/directors Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini; The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, which was also honored for its production design; and the French-language cartoon Triplets of Belleville won prizes for animation and music/score.

Here is a complete list of winners and runner-ups:

Best Picture:

Winner! American Splendor

Runner-up: Lost in Translation


Winner! Peter Jackson, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Runner-up: Clint Eastwood, Mystic River


Winner! Naomi Watts, 21 Grams

Runner-up: Charlize Theron, Monster


Winner! Bill Murray, Lost in Translation

Runner-up: Sean Penn, 21 Grams and Mystic River


Winner! Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini, American Splendor

Runner-up: Steve Knight, Dirty Pretty Things

Supporting Actress:

Winner! Shohreh Aghdashloo, House of Sand and Fog

Runner-up: Melissa Leo, 21 Grams

Supporting Actor:

Winner! Bill Nighy, AKA,I Capture the Castle, The Lawless Heart,Love Actually

Runner-up: Benicio Del Toro, 21 Grams

Foreign Language Film:

Winner! Man on the Train

Runner-up: City of God

Documentary/Non-Fiction Film:

Winner! The Fog of War

Runner-up: Capturing the Friedmans

Production Design:

Winner! Grant Major, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Runner-up: William Sandell, Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World


Winner! Sylvain Chomet, Triplets of Belleville

Special Citation to the Disney restoration of the Walt Disney/Salvador Dali short, Destino


Winner! Benoit Charest, Mathieu Chedid, Triplets of Belleville

Runner-up: Christopher Guest, John Michael Higgins, Eugene Levy, Michael McKean, Catherine Hara, Annette Toole, Harry Shearer, Jeffrey C.J. Vanston, A Mighty Wind


Winner! Eduardo Serra, Girl With A Pearl Earring

Runner-up: Harris Savides, Elephant

New Generation:

Winner! Scarlett Johansson

Career Achievement:

Winner! Robert Altman