Lucci Out, Regis In at Daytime Emmys

Daytime Emmys voters apparently feel they’ve paid their debt to Susan Lucci. The soap opera diva, who broke America’s most infamous losing streak last year when she finally claimed the best drama actress trophy, got zippo today as nominations were announced in New York for the 2000 edition of the Daytime Emmys.

Moving into the unlucky Lucci spotlight this year is none other than Regis Philbin. Up for two Emmys, including a curious daytime nod as host of a nighttime game show (for — what else? — “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire”), Philbin has never, ever won. Not even a combat-pay trophy for doing time with Kathie Lee Gifford all these years.

For the record, Kathie Lee Gifford has never won a Daytime Emmy for “Live! With Regis & Kathie Lee,” either, but no one really seems to get choked up over Kathie Lee, so let’s move on.

“Live!” is up again for best talk show. They’ll compete against “The Rosie O’Donnell Show” (syndicated), “The View” (ABC), “Donny & Marie” (syndicated) and the soon-to-be-late “Martin Short Show” (syndicated). (Note: Oprah removed herself from the competition last year, figuring there were only so many shiny paperweights her mantle could hold.) Regis and Kathie Lee, meanwhile, are also jointly nominated for best talk-show host.

The Daytime Emmys — as opposed to the Primetime Emmys — honors shows (cartoons, talk shows, soap operas, etc.) that traditionally air during, yes, the day. Don’t ask us about the “Millionaire” thing. Regis doesn’t understand it, either. Said so himself: “I don’t know why a primetime game show ends up on the Daytime Emmys,” Philbin told The Associated Press today.

In the battle of the soap opera drama queens, Finola Hughes (“All My Children, ABC), Susan Flannery (“The Bold and the Beautiful,” CBS), Hillary B. Smith (“One Life to Live,” ABC), Jeanne Cooper (“The Young and the Restless,” CBS) and Jess Walton (“The Young and the Restless,” CBS) will compete where Lucci won’t. (Translation: They’re all up for best lead drama actress.)

Nominated for best lead drama actor: David Canary (“All My Children,” ABC), Anthony Geary (“General Hospital,” ABC), Robert Woods (“One Life to Live, ABC), Peter Bergman (“The Young and the Restless,” CBS) and Eric Braeden (“The Young and the Restless,” CBS).