Petty, Timberlake Honored at Radio Music Awards

Justin Timberlake, Nelly, P. Diddy, and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers were among some of the winners at the 2003 Radio Music Awards Monday in Las Vegas.

Timberlake won the Artist of the Year/Top 40 Radio Award, while the Nelly/P. Diddy/Murphy Lee hit “Shake Ya Tailfeather” from the Bad Boys II soundtrack won best driving song.

“I thought I was just coming here to present an award,” Timberlake told the audience. “I get to take one home.”

Tim McGraw took home the Artist of the Year in the country music category, while Michael Jackson was also on hand to take home the Humanitarian Award. Casey Kasem received the Radio Icon Award.

The highlight of the evening, however, was Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers being honored with the Legend Award.

Stevie Nicks presented the award to the group in front of thousands of cheering fans. “He not only started out as my greatest musical influence, but today he’s still my greatest musical influence,” Nicks said.

The group performed two songs, “I’m Crying” and “Runnin’ Down a Dream.” Petty thanked radio stations for taking a chance on an “unknown band.”

The two-hour show broadcast live on NBC was hosted by Brooke Burns of NBC’s Dog Eat Dog and American Idol host Ryan Seacrest.

Other performers included Beyoncé, who opened the show with her steamy single, Baby Boy, as well as Jewel, Avril Lavigne and Michelle Branch.

The awards are based on radio’s top-playing songs and voted on by radio program and music directors nationwide.