Student Oscar Winners Announced

Winners were announced Thursday for the 30th Annual Student Academy Awards competition, with 11 film students chosen to participate in industry-related activities and social events in the week leading up to the awards ceremony on June 8 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

But the U.S.-based students, selected from nine American universities, will have to wait until the ceremony to find out what level of awards–gold, silver or bronze–each will receive. Besides trophies, gold medal winners take home $5,000; silver medal winners receive $3,000 and bronze medal winners are awarded $2,000.

A $1,000 cash grant is also awarded for the Honorary Foreign Film winner. This year, the prize went to Florian Baxmeyer from the University of Hamburg, Germany, for The Red Jacket. Baxmeyer was selected from a pool of 38 entries from 25 countries.

To reach this stage, students had to compete in one of three regional competitions. Each of those regions was permitted to send the Academy up to three finalist films in each of the four categories, including alternative, animation, documentary and narrative.

The Student Academy Awards were established by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in 1972 “to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.”

Here is a list of the 2003 winners (alphabetical by film title within category):

Alternative Category

The Projects Lumiere, Waleed Moursi, California Institute of the Arts, Valencia

Animation Category

Bert, Moonsung Lee, Academy of Art College, San Francisco

Perpetual Motion, Kimberly Miner, Rochester Institute of Technology (R.I.T.), Rochester, New York

A Work in Progress, Wes Ball, Florida State University, Tallahassee

Documentary Category

Indiana Aria, Elizabeth Pollock, University of California, Berkeley

Left Behind, Christof Putzel, Connecticut College, New London

Those Who Trespass, Renee Fischer, Stanford University, Palo Alto, California

Narrative Category

fine., Michael Downing and Philip Svoboda, American Film Institute, Los Angeles

Jesus Henry Christ, Dennis Lee, Columbia University, New York

La Milpa (The Cornfield), Patricia Riggen, Columbia University, New York

Honorary Foreign Film

The Red Jacket, Florian Baxmeyer, University of Hamburg, Germany