Team “Lady Marmalade” snags six nods

The MTV Video Music Awards may very well be the most anxiously awaited for show of the year, by both musicians and viewers. This is the only awards show where everything can be–and is really expected to be–unpredictable.

Do you recall Rage Against the Machine’s guitarist climbing over the stage during Limp Bizkit’s acceptance speech? Or maybe Marilyn Manson and Rose McGowan walking the red carpet semi-nude?

MTV’s Video Music Awards are broadcast live to many countries around the world, including Brazil, Germany and parts of Asia. The most successful artists featured on MTV unite under one roof in hopes of winning their very own astronaut statuette.

‘N Sync and the “Lady Marmalade” team of Christina Aguilera, Mya, Pink and Lil’ Kim picked up six nominations apiece. ‘N Sync’s shiny, shimmering clip for “Pop” will compete in several categories, including Best Group Video, Best Dance Video and Best Pop Video. Some of the “Lady Marmalade” team’s nominations include Best Dance Video, Best Pop Video and Best Video from a Movie (Moulin Rouge).

The race for the Video of the Year award is between Fatboy Slim (“Weapon of Choice”), U2 (“Beautiful Day”), Janet Jackson (“All for You”), Missy Elliott (“Get Ur Freak On”), Eminem with Dido (“Stan”) and the team of Christina Aguilera, Mya, Pink and Lil’ Kim (“Lady Marmalade”).

Dido’s duet with rapper Eminem received a lot of praise from fans and critics, landing six nominations for “Stan.” The song’s video also received nominations for Video of the Year, Best Male Video, Best Rap Video, Best Cinematography and Best Direction.

Irish band U2 garnered four nods for “Elevation” and a fifth for “Beautiful Day.” Janet Jackson collected nominations for Best Female Video, Best Dance Video, Best Choreography and Video of the Year (“All For You”). Gwen Stefani–despite her band No Doubt’s lack of recently released work–has been nominated for her work with Eve on “Let Me Blow Ya Mind” and for her collaboration with Moby on “South Side.”

Viewer’s Choice Awards, viewed by the artists as the most meaningful prize of the evening since it’s voted by fans, will be a hard one to pick. Eve (“Let Me Blow Ya Mind)” will run against Backstreet Boys (“The Call”), Nelly (“Ride Wit Me”), Destiny’s Child (“Independent Women Part I”), Limp Bizkit (“My Way”) and ‘N Sync (“Pop”).

Among MTV’s Best New Artists, the English group Coldplay, Nikka Costa, David Gray, Alicia Keys and the new punk rockers of Sum41 are up for an astronaut.

While such fringe MTV artists as Gorillaz and Robbie Williams grabbed multiple nominations, some of the channel’s staples–Britney Spears, Staind, DMX, Jay-Z and Weezer–did not receive as much recognition as they have at previous MTV Video Music Awards.

According to MTV, U2 and Alicia Keys are some of the early acts confirmed to perform at the show. A host is expected to be named soon, along with presenters and additional performers. The 18th annual MTV Video Music Awards will be held on Sept. 6 at the Metropolitan Opera House in New York.

Check our related link at the bottom of the page for full list of nominees.