‘The Shape of Water’ wins big at Online Film Critics Society Awards

Fox Searchlight Pictures

Director Guillermo Del Toro’s sci-fi love story The Shape Of Water was given another big Oscars boost on Wednesday night (10Jan18) when it picked up four big honors at the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society Awards.

The film was named Best Picture, while del Toro picked up the Best Director trophy and his leading lady Sally Hawkins was named Best Actress. Alexandre Desplat followed up his Golden Globes victory on Sunday by snagging the Best Score.

Red-hot Oscars favorite Gary Oldman claimed the Best Actor prize for his role as Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour, while Allison Janney was named Best Supporting Actress for her portrayal of figure skater Tonya Harding’s mother in I, Tonya.

The Best Supporting Actor award was shared between Patrick Stewart for Logan and Michael Stuhlbarg for Call Me by Your Name.

The full list of winners is:

Best Picture
The Shape of Water

Best Actress
Sally Hawkins (The Shape of Water)

Best Actor
Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour)

Best Supporting Actress
Allison Janney (I, Tonya)

Best Supporting Actor
Patrick Stewart (Logan) & Michael Stuhlbarg (Call Me by Your Name)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Aaron Sorkin (Molly’s Game)

Best Original Screenplay
Jordan Peele (Get Out)

Best Male Director
Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water)

Best Female Director
Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)

Best Animated Film

Best Foreign Film
The Square

Best Documentary
Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond & Jane

Best Visual Effects
War for The Planet of the Apes

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins (Blade Runner 2049)

Best Blockbuster
Wonder Woman

Best Independent Film
Lady Bird

Best First Feature
Jordan Peele (Get Out)

Best Comedy or Musical
The Big Sick

Best Action/War
Baby Driver

Best Sci-Fi/Horror
Get Out

Best Actor or Actress 23 and Under
Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird)

Best Stunt Work
Baby Driver

Best Score
Alexandre Desplat (The Shape of Water)

Best Editing
Baby Driver

Best Visual Effect Performance
Andy Serkis (War for the Planet of the Apes)

Trailblazer Award
Jessica Chastain

Achievement Award
Hugh Jackman