‘Three Billboards’ Leads Nominations for London Critics’ Circle Film Awards

Fox Searchlight Pictures

Awards favorite Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri has been given a further boost by landing seven nominations at the London Critics’ Circle Film Awards.

Martin McDonagh’s dark comedy, which recently came top in major Golden Globes categories, has landed even more nominations – this time for Film of the Year, British/Irish Film of the Year, Director and Screenwriter of the Year for McDonagh, Actress of the Year for Frances McDormand and supporting nods for Sam Rockwell and Woody Harrelson.

It is followed closely by Lady Macbeth and Phantom Thread, which scored six each. Phantom Thread, Daniel Day-Lewis’ last movie before he retires, was also nominated for Film of the Year alongside Call Me By Your Name, Dunkirk, The Florida Project, Get Out, God’s Own Country, Lady Bird, Loveless and The Shape of Water.

Lady Macbeth was nominated for British/Irish Film of the Year alongside Three Billboards, Dunkirk, God’s Own Country and Paddington 2.

Day-Lewis scored a mention in the Actor of the Year category and will compete against Timothee Chalamet (Call Me By Your Name), James Franco (The Disaster Artist), Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out) and Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour). Day-Lewis, Kaluuya and Oldman also appeared in the British/Irish Actor of the Year shortlist alongside Colin Farrell for The Beguiled and The Killing of a Sacred Deer and Josh O’Connor for God’s Own Country.

Besides McDormand, the Actress of the Year prize is a competition between Annette Bening (Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool), Sally Hawkins (The Shape of Water), Isabelle Huppert (Elle) and Florence Pugh (Lady Macbeth). Hawkins and Pugh also appear in the British/Irish Actress of the Year category with Emily Beecham (Daphne), Judi Dench (Victoria & Abdul/Murder on the Orient Express) and Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird).

The winners will be announced at The May Fair Hotel in London on 28 January (18). During the ceremony, Kate Winslet will be honored with the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film.

The main list of nominees are as follows:

Film of the Year:

  • Call Me By Your Name
  • Dunkirk
  • The Florida Project
  • Get Out
  • God’s Own Country
  • Lady Bird
  • Loveless
  • Phantom Thread
  • The Shape of Water
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

British/Irish Film of the Year:

  • Dunkirk
  • God’s Own Country
  • Lady Macbeth
  • Paddington 2
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Actress of the Year:

  • Annette BeningFilm Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool
  • Sally Hawkins The Shape of Water
  • Isabelle HuppertElle
  • Frances McDormandThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Florence PughLady Macbeth

Actor of the Year:

  • Timothee ChalametCall Me By Your Name
  • Daniel Day-LewisPhantom Thread
  • James FrancoThe Disaster Artist
  • Daniel KaluuyaGet Out
  • Gary OldmanDarkest Hour

Supporting Actress of the Year:

  • Lily Gladstone Certain Women
  • Holly HunterThe Big Sick
  • Allison JanneyI, Tonya
  • Lesley Manville Phantom Thread
  • Laurie Metcalf Lady Bird

Supporting Actor of the Year:

  • Willem DafoeThe Florida Project
  • Hugh Grant Paddington 2
  • Woody HarrelsonThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Sam RockwellThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Michael Stuhlbarg Call Me By Your Name

Director of the Year:

  • Sean BakerThe Florida Project
  • Guillermo Del ToroThe Shape of Water
  • Luca GuadagninoCall Me By Your Name
  • Martin McDonaghThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Christopher Nolan Dunkirk

Screenwriter of the Year:

  • Paul Thomas AndersonPhantom Thread
  • Greta GerwigLady Bird
  • James IvoryCall Me By Your Name
  • Martin McDonaghThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Jordan PeeleGet Out

British/Irish Actress of the Year:

  • Emily BeechamDaphne
  • Judi DenchVictoria & Abdul/Murder on the Orient Express
  • Sally HawkinsThe Shape of Water/Maudie/Paddington 2
  • Florence Pugh Lady Macbeth
  • Saoirse Ronan Lady Bird/Loving Vincent

British/Irish Actor of the Year:

  • Daniel Day-LewisPhantom Thread
  • Colin FarrellThe Killing of a Sacred Deer/The Beguiled
  • Daniel KaluuyaGet Out
  • Josh O’Connor God’s Own Country
  • Gary Oldman Darkest Hour/The Space Between Us