2010 Independent Spirit Nods Announced

Natalie PortmanIn the wee West Hollywood hours this morning, Eva Mendes and Jeremy Renner took the stage at The London Hotel to announce this year’s IFP Independent Spirit Awards Nominees. This year, the list rewards a few hot-button films like Blue Valentine, 127 Hours and Black Swan, which I’m sure the IFP is hoping will draw some buzz to their beach-side awards ceremony. You may recognize a few hipster-friendly names on the list – Indie gods like Bill Murray and Banksy – but the IFP is also recognizing a few A-listers like Nicole Kidman and Ben Stiller who managed to tap into their unconventional sides this year.

No offense IFP, but what happened to the Indie part of these awards? What happened to recognizing the little guys? Last time I checked, James Franco and Natalie Portman were superstars and Darren Aronofsky, while immensely unique, is definitely a member of the big leagues – name one person who’s never heard of Requiem For a Dream (and your 97 year old grandmother doesn’t count, but I bet you she knows what’s up too). All in all, I guess the results aren’t that surprising; after all, it’s been a rough year in film so the pickings are what you might call slim.

Of course all of this commentary may be pointless because after last night’s Gotham Independent Awards where Winter’s Bone – a true Indie flick – took home the greatest bounty, it looks like A-listers may just be buzz-charms for the low-key awards.

Without further ado, the nominees are:

Best Feature:

• 127 Hours

• Black Swan


The Kids Are Alright

• Winter’s Bone

Best Director:

• Darren Arronofsky, Black Swan

Danny Boyle, 127 Hours

• Lisa Cholodenko, The Kids Are Alright

• Debra Granik, Winter’s Bone

• John Cameron Mitchell, Rabbit Hole

Best Female Lead:

• Nicole Kidman, Rabbit Hole

Annette Bening, The Kids Are Alright

• Greta Gerwig, Greenberg

• Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone

• Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Michelle Williams, Blue Valentine

Best Male Lead:

• Ronald Bronstein, Daddy Longlegs

Aaron Eckhart, Rabbit Hole

• James Franco, 127 Hours

John C. Reilly, Cyrus

• Ben Stiller, Greenberg

Click here for a full list of nominees.

Source: Hollywood Reporter, Independent Spirit Awards