Directors’ Guild Awards Noms Announced

Darren Aronofsky Directing Black SwanThe Directors Guild Awards have predicted all but six Best Director winners throughout the history of the Oscars, and today we can finally know who made the DGA’s top five of 2010. While the final five nominations definitely reflect some of the best films of the year, some may note that top films like True Grit, Winter’s Bone, and 127 Hours didn’t make the list, the DGA’s tough to argue with. This list usually foreshadows the Academy’s nominations as well. Instead of focusing on those missing, we can focus on the triumph for first-time DGA nominees Darren Aronofsky, David O. Russell, and Tom Hooper. David Fincher and Christopher Nolan are DGA vets at this point; Fincher with one nom for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Nolan for both The Dark Knight and Memento. The winner will be announced Jan. 29 and the DGA ceremony in Hollywood.

Without further ado, here’s the list of nominations for DGA’s top feature films:

• Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan

• David Fincher, The Social Network

• Thomas Hooper, The King’s Speech

• Christopher Nolan, Inception

• David O. Russell, The Fighter

Source: Variety