Helen Mirren’s ‘Queen’ Reigns over BAFTAs

The Queen and its star, Helen Mirren, were the big winners at Sunday’s Orange British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs), winning the Best Film and Best Actress awards.

Elsewhere, Forest Whitaker won the Best Actor prize for Last King of Scotland, Little Miss Sunshine star Alan Arkin won Best Supporting Actor and Jennifer Hudson won Best Supporting Actress for her role in Dreamgirls.

The ceremony took place at the Royal Opera House in London’s Covent Garden.

The full list of winners is as follows:

The Academy Fellowship: Anne V. Coates

Film: The Queen

The Michael Balcon Award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema: Nick Daubeny

The Alexander Korda Award for the Outstanding British Film of the Year: Last King of Scotland

The Carl Foreman Award for Special Achievement by a British Director, Writer or Producer in Their First Feature Film: Andrea Arnold, Red Road

The David Lean Award for Achievement in Direction: United 93, Paul Greengrass

Original Screenplay: Little Miss Sunshine, Michael Arndt

Adapted Screenplay: Last King of Scotland, Peter Morgan/Jeremy Brock

Film Not in the English Language: Pan’s Labyrinth

Animated Feature Film: Happy Feet

Actor in a Leading Role: Forest Whitaker, Last King of Scotland

Actress in a Leading Role: Helen Mirren, The Queen

Actor in a Supporting Role: Alan Arkin, Little Miss Sunshine

Actress in a Supporting Role: Jennifer Hudson, Dreamgirls

The Anthony Asquith Award for Achievement in Film Music: Babel, Gustavo Santaolalla

Cinematography: Children of Men, Emmanuel Lubezki

Editing: United 93, Clare Douglas/Christopher Rouse/Richard Pearson

Production Design: Children of Men, Jim Clay/Geoffrey Kirkland/Jennifer Williams

Costume Design: Pan’s Labyrinth, Lala Huete

Sound: Casino Royale, Chris Munro/Eddy Joseph/Mike Prestwood Smith/Martin Cantwell/Mark Taylor

Achievement in Special Visual Effects: Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest, John Knoll/Hal Hickel/Charles Gibson/Allen L. Hall

Makeup & Hair: Pan’s Labyrinth, Jose Quetglas/Blanca Sanchez

Short Animation Film: Guy 101, Ian Gouldstone

Short Film: Do Not Erase, Asitha Ameresekere

The Orange Rising Star Award: Eva Green