‘Hurt Locker’ Dominates L.A. Film Critic Awards

Gripping war movie The Hurt Locker took home the top honor at the annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association ceremony on Sunday.

The drama landed the Best Film award, while Kathryn Bigelow was named Best Director for her work on the picture, which stars Jeremy RennerRalph FiennesGuy Pearce and Evangeline Lilly

Jeff Bridges was honored as Best Actor for his portrayal of a washed-up country singer in Crazy Heart and British newcomer Carey Mulligan earned Best Actress for her role in An Education.

Best Supporting Actor went to Christoph Waltz for his part in Inglourious Basterds, and Mo’Nique landed Best Supporting Actress for her role in Precious.

Other winners included The White Ribbon, which won the Best Cinematography trophy, while Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner were awarded the Best Screenplay prize for Up in the Air.

(c) 2009 WORLD ENTERTAINMENT NEWS NETWORK LTD. All global rights reserved. No unauthorized copying or re-distributing permitted.