‘Hurt Locker’ Scores Award Season’s First Big Prize

Gripping war movie The Hurt Locker has triumphed at the 19th Gotham Independent Film Awards in New York.

Kathryn Bigelow’s movie was named Best Feature of 2009 at the prizegiving on Monday evening, and the film’s stars — Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty, Ralph Fiennes, Guy PearceDavid Morse and Evangeline Lilly — claimed the night’s Best Ensemble. 

Food, Inc. was named Best Documentary, and Bigelow, Stanley Tucci and Natalie Portman were among the career tribute honorees. 

Robert Siegel landed the Breakthrough Director prize for Big Fan, while The Maid‘s Catalina Saavedra was named Best Breakthrough Actor.

The Gotham Independent Film Awards mark the unofficial start of the movie awards season.

(c) 2009 WORLD ENTERTAINMENT NEWS NETWORK LTD. All global rights reserved. No unauthorized copying or re-distributing permitted.