PGA Prizes For ‘Hurt Locker,’ ‘Up,’ ’30 Rock,’ ‘Mad Men’

Stoking the fires of a potential Oscar night battle of the exes, Kathryn Bigelow‘s The Hurt Locker triumphed on Sunday night as it took home the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures at the 21st annual PGA Awards.

The prize was shared by producers Bigelow (who also directed), Mark Boal (the film’s screenwriter), Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro.

Locker has picked up numerous critics awards, including the Broadcast Film Critics Assn.’s Critics Choice Award for best picture. At the Golden Globes two nights later, however,  Avatar took the best-drama prize.

A Best Picture Oscar for Locker is by no means a done deal, notes The Hollywood Reporter, as the PGA Awards have seen only 12 of its picks in its 20-year history carry on to win the best-film Oscar.

In other news, Up topped the animated category while documentary The Cove took the theatrical documentary prize.

The Danny Thomas Producer of the Year Award for comedy series went to 30 Rock for the third year in a row. For the second straight year, AMC’s Mad Men won the Norman Felton Producer of the Year Award for drama series.