‘Volver’ and ‘Pan’s Labyrinth’ Triumph at Goya Awards

Pedro Almodovar‘s Volver picked up five honors at the Goya Awards in Madrid last night, including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Actress for Penelope Cruz.

The movie, which had received 14 nominations, also won Best Original Soundtrack for Alberto Iglesias.

On collecting her Best Actress award, Cruz said, “This award is very important, very special for me. I am going to try not to cry because I’m a disaster, and these 30 seconds are not going to be enough.”

Pan’s Labyrinth, which is nominated for the Best Foreign Language Film at next month’s Oscars, collected the most awards–seven in total, including Best Original Screenplay for Mexican writer/director Guillermo Del Toro.

Del Toro said, “My relationship with Spain as a filmmaker is one of profound admiration and respect… that began with the hand of Pedro (Almodovar).”

Elsewhere, Juan Diego won Best Actor for Vete de Mi, while Stephen FrearsThe Queen won Best European film.

The full list of winners is:

Best Picture–Volver

Best Actress–Penelope Cruz, Volver

Best Actor–Juan Diego, Vete de Mi

Best Director–Pedro Almodovar, Volver

Best Original Screenplay–Guillermo Del Toro, Pan’s Labyrinth

Best Adapted Screenplay–Lluis Arcarazo, Salvador

Best First-Time Director–Daniel Sanchez Arevalo, DarkBlueAlmostBlack

Best European Film–The Queen

Best Foreign Spanish-Language Film–Las Manos, by Alejandro Doria(Argentina)

Best Supporting Actress–Carmen Maura, Volver

Best Supporting Actor–Antonio De La Torre, DarkBlueAlmostBlack

Best Breakthrough Performance, Actor–Quim Gutierrez, DarkBlueAlmostBlack

Best Breakthrough Performance, Actress–Ivana Baquero, Pan’s Labyrinth

Best Animated Feature–The Hairy Tooth Fairy, by Juan Pablo Buscarini

Best Art Direction–Benjamin Fernandez, Alatriste

Best Cinematography–Guillermo Navarro, Pan’s Labyrinth

Best Line Production–Cristina Zumarraga, Alatriste

Best Documentary Short–Castanuela 70, El Teatro Prohibido, by Manuel Calvo and Olga Margallo

Best Animated Short Film–El Viaje De Said, by Coke Rioboo

Best Live-Action Short Film–A Ciegas, by Salvador Gomez Cuenca

Best Visual Effects–David Marti, Montse Ribe, Reyes Abades, Everett Burrell, Edward Irastorza and Emilio Ruiz, Pan’s Labyrinth

Best Costume Design–Francesca Sartori, Alatriste

Best Documentary Feature–Cineastas en Accion, by Carlos Benpar

Best Film Editing–Bernat Vilaplana, Pan’s Labyrinth

Best Sound–Miguel Polo and Martin Hernandez, Pan’s Labyrinth

Best Original Score–Alberto Iglesias, Volver

Best Original Song–“Tiempo Pequeno,” Bebe and Lucio Godoy, from The Education of a Fairy

Best Make-Up and Hair Design–Jose Quetglas and Blanca Sanchez, Pan’s Labyrinth

Lifetime Achievement Award–Teddy Villalba