WGA Noms: ‘Avatar,’ ‘Hangover,’ ‘Crazy Heart,’ ‘Star Trek’ & More

The Writers Guild announced its screen nominees this morning with Best Original screenplay nods going to Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for (500) Days of SummerJames Cameron for AvatarJon Lucas and Scott Moore for The HangoverMark Boal for The Hurt Locker and Joel and Ethan Coen for A Serious Man.

Contenders in the adapted screenplay category are Scott Cooper for Crazy Heart, based on the novel by Thomas Cobb; Nora Ephron for Julie & Julia, based on the books Julie & Julia by Julie Powell and My Life in France by Julia Child with Alex Prud’homme; Geoffrey Fletcher for PreciousRoberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman for Star Trek, based upon Star Trek, created by Gene Roddenberry, and Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner for Up in the Air, based on the novel by Walter Kirn.

Documentary screenplay nominations are: Richard Trank for Against the TideMichael Moore for Capitalism: A Love StoryMark Monroe for The CoveRobert Stone for Earth DaysChris RockJeff Stilson and Lance Crouther and Chuck Sklar for Good Hair, and Bill Guttentag and Dan Sturman for Soundtrack for a Revolution.

The 2010 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Saturday, February 20, simultaneously at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles and the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York City.