General News

2004 Independent Spirit Awards Nominees Announced

Dec 03, 2003 | 1:05pm EST

The nominations for the 2004 IFP Independent Spirit Awards are in, and with more submissions than ever before in the ceremony's history, it looks like a hot race.

Jeff Kleeman, IFP committee chair, had this to say: "With more submissions and less time then ever before, the Nominating Committee watched and discussed over 190 films in six weeks -- an act of extreme devotion that proved to be tremendously rewarding."

Dawn Hudson, IFP executive producer, added that this year's batch of nominees is particularly diverse, and commended the fact there are more highly talented women writers and directors emerging on the independent film scene, including nominees Shari Springer Berman, Sofia Coppola and Catherine Hardwicke.

Films that have been nominated for IFP Independent Spirit Awards were selected based on their original and provocative subject matter, uniqueness of vision, and financial characteristics, including total budget, individual compensation, and percentage of independent financing.

Last year's ISA winners included the film Far From Heaven (best feature), Julianne Moore (best director and lead actress), and Dennis Quaid (best supporting actor).

The 2004 IFP Independent Spirit Awards ceremony will air live on Feb. 28 at 5 p.m. EST on the Independent Film Channel, and will be broadcast at 10 p.m. EST/PST on Bravo.

The nominees for the 2004 IFP Independent Spirit Awards are (by category):

Best Feature

American Splendor In America Lost in Translation Raising Victor Vargas Shattered Glass

Best Director

Shari Springer Berman & Robert Pulcini - American Splendor Sofia Coppola - Lost in Translation Jim Sheridan - In America Peter Sollett - Raising Victor Vargas Gus Van Sant - Elephant

Best Screenplay

American Splendor - Writers: Shari Springer Berman & Robert Pulcini Lost in Translation - Writer: Sofia Coppola A Mighty Wind - Writers: Christopher Guest & Eugene Levy and the cast of A Mighty Wind Pieces of April - Writer: Peter Hedges Shattered Glass - Writer: Billy Ray

Best First Feature

Bomb the System - Director: Adam Bhala Lough; Producers: Ben Rekhi, Sol Tryon House of Sand and Fog - Director: Vadim Perelman; Producers: Michael London, Vadim Perelman Monster - Director: Patty Jenkins; Producers: Mark Damon, Donald Kushner, Clark Peterson, Charlize Theron, Brad Wyman Quattro Noza - Director: Joey Curtis; Producer: Fredric King Thirteen - Director: Catherine Hardwicke; Producers: Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Michael London

John Cassavetes Award

Anne B. Real - Director: Lisa France; Writers: Lisa France, Antonio Macia, Producers: Josselyne Herman, Luis Moro, Jeanine Rohn Better Luck Tomorrow - Director: Justin Lin; Writers: Ernesto M. Foronda, Justin Lin, Fabian Marquez; Producers: Julie Asato, Ernesto M. Foronda, Justin Lin Pieces of April - Writer/Director: Peter Hedges; Producers: Alexis Alexanian, John S. Lyons, Gary Winick The Station Agent - Writer/Director: Thomas McCarthy; Producers: Mary Jane Skalski, Robert May, Kathryn Tucker Virgin - Writer/Director: Deborah Kampmeier; Producer:Sarah Schenck

Best First Screenplay

Blue Car- Writer: Karen Moncrieff Monster - Writer: Patty Jenkins Raising Victor Vargas - Writers: Peter Sollett and Eva Vives The Station Agent - Writer: Thomas McCarthy Thirteen - Writers: Catherine Hardwicke & Nikki Reed

Best Female Lead

Agnes Bruckner - Blue Car Zooey Deschanel - All the Real Girls Samantha Morton - In America Elisabeth Moss - Virgin Charlize Theron - Monster

Best Male Lead

Peter Dinklage - The Station Agent Paul Giamatti - American Splendor Sir Ben Kingsley - House of Sand and Fog Bill Murray - Lost in Translation Lee Pace - Soldier's Girl

Best Supporting Female

Shohreh Aghdashloo - House of Sand and Fog Sarah Bolger - In America Patricia Clarkson - Pieces of April Hope Davis - The Secret Lives of Dentists Frances McDormand - Laurel Canyon

Best Supporting Male

Judah Friedlander - American Splendor Troy Garity - Soldier's Girl Djimon Hounsou - In America Alessandro Nivola - Laurel Canyon Peter Sarsgaard - Shattered Glass

Best Debut Performance

Anna Kendrick - Camp Judy Marte - Raising Victor Vargas Victor Rasuk - Raising Victor Vargas Nikki Reed - Thirteen Janice Richardson - Anne B. Real

Best Cinematography

Elephant - Harris Savides In America - Declan Quinn Northfork - M. David Mullen Quattro Noza - Derek Cianfrance Shattered Glass - Mandy Walker

Best Foreign Film

City of God (Brazil) Lilya 4-Ever (Denmark) The Magdalene Sisters (England/Ireland) The Triplets of Belleville (France) Whale Rider (New Zealand)

Best Documentary

The Fog of War Mayor of the Sunset Strip My Architect OT: our town Power Trip

More General News