General News

Her, Fruitvale Station & Nebraska multiple winners for National Board of Review

Dec 04, 2013 | 3:33pm EST

Spike Jonze's acclaimed new film Her has been given a big Oscar boost after picking up America's National Board of Review's Best Film of 2013. Jonze has also been honoured as Best Director for the film, which stars Joaquin Phoenix, who missed out on the Best Actor trophy to Nebraska's Bruce Dern. Emma Thompson's role as Mary Poppins creator P.L. Travers in Saving Mr. Banks has landed her the Best Actress award, while Dern's co-star Will Forte and Fruitvale Station's Octavia Spencer have scored the Best Supporting Actor and Actress honours. Fruitvale Station's leading man Michael B. Jordan has been named the Breakthrough Performance of the year, and the film's director Ryan Coogler has been awarded the Best Directorial Debut prize. The full list of winners is: Best Film: Her Best Director: Spike Jonze, Her Best Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska Best Actress: Emma Thompson, Saving Mr. Banks Best Supporting Actor: Will Forte, Nebraska Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer, Fruitvale Station Best Original Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis Best Adapted Screenplay: Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street Best Animated Feature: The Wind Rises Breakthrough Performance: Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station Breakthrough Performance: Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color Best Directorial Debut: Ryan Coogler, Fruitvale Station Best Foreign Language Film: The Past Best Documentary: Stories We Tell William K. Everson Film History Award: George Stevens, Jr. Best Ensemble: Prisoners Spotlight Award: Career Collaboration of Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award: Gravity

More General News