‘Community’ Wins Big at Critics’ Choice, Dan Harmon Not Invited?

Jeff WingerWhatever you’d call the equivalent of a “rags to riches” story in terms of a television program’s critical appreciation, that’s what 2012 has been for NBC’s Community. On Monday night, the sitcom, which only a few months prior had been in the midst of a threatening hiatus due to low ratings, earned the title of Best Comedy at the second annual Critics Choice Awards for television. 

But as if to drive home the fact that this world just refuses to give Community fanatics any true joy, the series’ creator Dan Harmon, whom NBC fired as Community showrunner for the upcoming fourth season, was not present to accept the award. As Harmon Tweeted shortly after the ceremony, “Congrats, Community, and thank you, critics. Sorry I was unable to have been invited!”

The brilliant mind behind NBC’s greatest artistic testament to human relationships since Cheers was ousted from his showrunner position shortly after the network announced that Community would receive a Season 4; this event publicized Harmon’s contentious relationship with the studio, akin perhaps to his relationship with series star Chevy Chase.

The Critics Choice Award for Best Comedy was accepted Community cast members Joel McHale (leading man Jeff Winger), Gillian Jacobs (bad-at-everything Britta Perry), and Danny Pudi (best-character-in-the-history-of-television Abed Nadir), as well as executive producer Russ Krasnoff. Back when Community was first nominated for the honor, speculation about the program’s Emmy chances arose. Now, they’re even more feasible — the 2012 Emmy ballot is just aching for Greendale Community College.

Below is a complete list of this year’s Critics Choice Award winners:

Best Drama Series

Homeland (Showtime)

Best Actor in a Drama Series

Bryan CranstonBreaking Bad (AMC)

Best Actress in a Drama Series

Claire DanesHomeland (Showtime)

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Giancarlo EspositoBreaking Bad (AMC)

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Christina HendricksMad Men (AMC)

Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series

Lucy LiuSouthland (TNT)

Best Reality Series

Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations (Travel Channel)

Best Reality Series – Competition

The Voice (NBC)

Best Reality Show Host

(Tie) Tom BergeronDancing with the Stars (ABC), Cat DeeleySo You Think You Can Dance (FOX)

Best Talk Show

Late Night with Jimmy Fallon (NBC)

Best Comedy Series

Community (NBC)

Best Actor in a Comedy Series

Louis C.K.Louie (FX)

Best Actress in a Comedy Series

(Tie) Zooey DeschanelNew Girl (FOX) and Amy PoehlerParks and Recreation (NBC)

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Ty BurrellModern Family (ABC)

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy

Julie Bowen Modern Family (ABC)

Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series

Paul RuddParks and Recreation (NBC)

Best Animated Series

Archer (FX)

Best Movie/Miniseries

Sherlock (PBS)

Best Actor in a Movie/Miniseries

Benedict CumberbatchSherlock (PBS)

Best Actress in a Movie/Miniseries

Julianne MooreGame Change (HBO)

[Image Credit: NBC]


‘Community’ Season Finale: #SixSeasonsAndAMovie

‘Community’: Why It’s Okay that Dan Harmon’s Show Is Over

John Oliver: The Internet is ‘Killing’ ‘Community’