Darren Criss’ new Quibi show makes history with major label soundtrack release

Darren Criss

Darren Criss and Mark Hamill will make history next month (June 2020) when they feature on the first major-label soundtrack release for a Quibi show.

The Republic Records album accompanying musical comedy series Royalties will drop on June 12 and also feature tracks recorded by Rufus Wainwright, Julianne Hough, Jordan Fisher, Jennifer Coolidge, and Sabrina Carpenter.

The trailer for the streaming site’s new show, which was also co-created by Criss, dropped on Tuesday (May 26, 2020).

Royalties follow the ascent of a “ragtag songwriting duo” as they navigate the “strange and hilarious challenges of creating a truly great song”.

A press release reads: “Each episode will feature real-life entertainment personalities portraying fictitious (and ridiculous) music stars, along with original songs penned by Criss.”

Criss co-wrote and executive produced the series with longtime collaborators Nick and Matt Lang.