Light Mode

Ben Affleck & George Clooney pick up Producers Guild Awards top prize

The big win at the 24th annual ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles is the latest victory for Argo this month (Jan13) – Affleck, Clooney and fellow producer Grant Heslov also picked up major awards at the Critics’ Choice Awards and Golden Globes.

The trio beat out the producers of Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Miserables, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Moonrise Kingdom, Silver Linings Playbook, Skyfall and Zero Dark Thirty to land the coveted trophy.

Meanwhile, the award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures went to Clark Spencer for Wreck-It Ralph; the prize for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures was claimed by Malik Bendielloul and Simon Chinn for Searching for Sugar Man, and Tom Hanks and his production partners Gary Goetzman, Jay Roach, Amy Sayres, Steven Shareshian and Danny Strong scored the David L. Wolper Award for Long-Form Television.

- Advertisement -

Other winners included Cindy Chupack, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel and Danny Zuker (Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy – Modern Family), and Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Michael Cuesta, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Michael Klick and Meredith Stiehm (Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama – Homeland).

And Bob and Harvey Weinstein, Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner, J.J. Abrams and Russell Simmons all picked up honorary awards.

- Advertisement -