Light Mode

David Letterman to be honoured with top American comedy prize

Beloved U.S. TV personality David Letterman will be the 2017 recipient of the coveted Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.
The former The Late Show host will accept the award during a ceremony in October (17).
Letterman, who recently inducted his pal Eddie Vedder and Pearl Jam into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, announced the honour in typical comedy fashion, joking, “This is an exciting honour. For 33 years, there was no better guest, no greater friend of the show, than Mark Twain. The guy could really tell a story.”
The author died in 1910.
In a statement, Deborah F. Rutter, the president of the Kennedy Center, which hands out the Twain Prize annually, said, “For decades, David Letterman delivered comedy to America that was smart, authentic and, frankly, what many of us came to rely upon to elevate our spirits after a long day.”
The first recipient of the Mark Twain Prize in 1998 was Richard Pryor. Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, George Carlin, Steve Martin, Ellen DeGeneres, Carol Burnett, and Eddie Murphy have all been honoured with the award and last year’s recipient was Letterman’s friend Bill Murray.

- Advertisement -