Demi Lovato slams Time editors for Donald Trump Person of the Year decision


Demi Lovato has slammed Time magazine editors for naming Donald Trump as a runner-up to women who spoke out against sexual assault in their Person of the Year list.

The ‘Silence Breakers’, women and men who went public with allegations of sexual misconduct, were named as the winners of the prestigious honor on Wednesday (06Dec17).

The controversial president was named as a runner-up, and the decision angered Demi as multiple women have accused the POTUS of sexual assault.

“Time mag(azine) highlights brave women coming forward against sexual assault on the cover but names a man with sexual assault allegations against him runner up to person of the year…Really @TIME? #hypocrites,” she wrote on Twitter.

“I’ve become less vocal about my distain (sic) for certain people over the past year because it only divides our country even more but this is worth speaking up about. @TIME mag – very disappointed in your hypocrisy and disrespect toward the women on your cover.”

Time’s Person of the Year award isn’t necessarily a positive accolade, as it is given to the individual or group of people who have had most impact on events, rather than someone who has been a force for good. Previous winners have included Adolf Hitler and Stalin.

However, Demi demanded editors change the selection criteria so that those named on the list were celebrated for positive achievements.

She wrote, “To be named POTY (person of the year) by @TIME it should be for doing something positive or brave LIKE the women on the cover. It’s annoying that it’s just about impact on the news.”

Demi also retweeted a fan’s suggestion that Kesha should have been included alongside Rose McGowan, Taylor Swift, and Ashley Judd among the ‘Silence Breakers’.

The Tik Tok singer has been engaged in a long-running legal battle with her former producer Lukasz ‘Dr. Luke’ Gottwald, who she has accused of sexual and emotional abuse – allegations he denies.

Other runners-up in the Time list included Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins and activist NFL  star Colin Kaepernick.