Light Mode

Flatt Lonesome win big at International Bluegrass Music Association Awards

Family band Flatt Lonesome became a triple threat at the 2016 International Bluegrass Music Association Awards after taking home three top prizes.
The six-piece group claimed Vocal Group of the Year, while its Runaway Train was named Album of the Year, and You’re the One earned the band Song of the Year.
Earls of Leicester also won big at the Thursday night (29Sep16) ceremony in Raleigh, North Carolina – they were named Entertainer of the Year for the second consecutive year, while bandmates Jerry Douglas, Charlie Cushman, and Barry Bales each scored individual recognition for the respective honours of Dobro Player of the Year, Banjo Player of the Year, and Bass Player of the Year.
Meanwhile, Danny Paisley was awarded Male Vocalist of the Year, and Becky Buller scored the female equivalent, as well as Fiddle Player of the Year.
Guitar Player of the Year went to Bryan Sutton, event co-host Sierra Hall landed the Mandolin Player of the Year title, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen were unveiled as Instrumental Group of the Year, and Emerging Artist of the Year went to Mountain Faith.
The prizegiving also included the official induction of Clarence White and Rounder Records co-founders Ken Irwin, Marian Leighton-Levy and Bill Nowlin into the Bluegrass Hall of Fame.

- Advertisement -