Martin Scorsese to be honored with 14th annual Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence


Martin Scorsese has been named the recipient of the 14th annual Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film from officials at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival.

The Oscar-winning director will accept the accolade at a gala at the Ritz Carlton Bacara in November (2019).

The lifetime achievement award recognizes actors and filmmakers who have made a huge contribution to cinema.

Scorsese becomes the fourth director to land the prize.

Past recipients have included Hugh Jackman, Dame Judi Dench, Jane Fonda, Robert De Niro, Michael Douglas, Harrison Ford, and Quentin Tarantino.

Announcing this year’s honouree, Kirk Douglas says, “Martin Scorsese is a brilliant filmmaker. He has made countless unforgettable films and is a true cinematic treasure.”

Meanwhile, the 35th annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place in January 2020.