Mel Gibson’s “Braveheart” Voted Worst Oscar Winner

Mel Gibson‘s 1995 movie Braveheart has won the dubious honor of being voted
the worst ever movie to win a Best Picture Oscar.

The historical epic, about Scottish hero William Wallace’s uprising against
English rule, has beaten Russell Crowe‘s 2001 drama A Beautiful Mind in the
poll by British magazine Empire.

The publication’s list acknowledges the least-deserving winners of the
Academy Awards’ most prestigious prize.

An Empire spokesperson explains, “This typical piece of Pom-bashing from Mel Gibson is just about the all-time worst Best Picture.

“Randall Wallace (writer) might have merited praise for making 14th century
history relevant to audiences who thought King Edward was a potato or a cigar,
but his dialogue has all the thudding subtlety of a parody.”

The Top 10 Worst Best Pictures:

1. Braveheart (1995)

2. A Beautiful Mind (2001)

3. The Greatest Show on Earth (1952)

4. Ordinary People (1980)

5. Forrest Gump (1994)

6. Terms of Endearment (1983)

7. Around the World in 80 Days (1956)

8. Cavalcade (1933)

9. Rocky (1976)

10. How Green Was My Valley (1941)

Article Copyright World Entertainment News Network All Rights Reserved.