Light Mode

Nile Rodgers and Marvin Gaye lead Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees

Nile Rodgers, Marvin Gaye, Tom Petty and Elvis Costello are set to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.
Chip Taylor and Rodgers’ late Chic bandmate, Bernard Edwards, will also be honoured as part of the Class of 2016, which will take place in New York City on 9 June (16).
“The 2016 roster of Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees is a beautiful mosaic of the best of late 20th Century popular music,” co-chairs Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff. “With creators of Rock & Roll, Soul/R&B, Country and Funk/ Dance represented, we are looking forward to an unforgettable and extremely exciting event and evening at the Marriott Marquis on June 9th.
“With the exception of two (Gaye and Edwards), all of the 2016 inductees are alive and continue to be as vitally creative as ever… We could not be more excited about the quality and diversity of the songs and songwriters that will be honored.”
The six inductees were voted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame by the organisation’s members from a shortlist which included Madonna, Jimi Hendrix, George Harrison, Gloria Estefan, Blondie, John Mellencamp, Sly Stone, and the Isley Brothers, among many others.
Further honourees for the 47th annual Induction and Awards Dinner are set to be announced in the coming weeks.
The Class of 2015 featured Cyndi Lauper, Linda Perry, Toby Keith, late Grateful Dead frontman Jerry Garcia and his collaborator Robert Hunter, country songwriter/producer Bobby Braddock, and late blues star Willie Dixon.

- Advertisement -