Sherlock and Doctor Who to fight it out at National Television Awards

They will compete with Downton Abbey and Merlin for the Best Drama prize, and Steven Moffat, who writes and produces both Sherlock and Doctor Who, is hoping for a dead heat.

He says, “Well this is very flattering, but also terrifying. I hope everyone votes with tremendous care and the result is an exact draw between both shows.”

Sherlock star Benedict Cumberbatch and Doctor Who lead Matt Smith are both up for the Best Male Drama Performance prize, against Merlin’s Colin Morgan and Daniel Mays, who is tipped for his portrayal of Great Train Robber Ronnie Biggs in drama Mrs Biggs.

Mays’ co-star Sheridan Smith has been nominated in the Best Female Drama Performance category, and goes up against Doctor Who’s Karen Gillan, Miranda Hart (Call The Midwife) and Suranne Jones (Scott & Bailey).

The winners will be announced during a ceremony held at the O2 Arena in London on 23 January (13).