Awards 2012: Writers Guild Award Nominations Announced


ALTOn Tuesday, the Producers Guild of America’s award nominations were announced; today it was the Writers Guild’s turn.

Most notable among the nominations for the year’s best screenplays are Steven Zaillian — nominated twice for his adapted Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Moneyball scripts (the latter of which he co-wrote with Aaron Sorkin) — and Woody Allen‘s 20th career nomination, this time for his original screenplay to Midnight in Paris.

The WGA will hold a ceremony on Feb. 19. Read on for the full list of nominees.


50/50, Written by Will Reiser; Summit Entertainment


Bridesmaids, Written by Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig; Universal Studios


Midnight in Paris,

Written by Woody Allen; Sony Pictures Classics


Win Win,

Screenplay by Tom McCarthy; Story by Tom McCarthy & Joe Tiboni; Fox Searchlight


Young Adult, Written by Diablo Cody; Paramount Pictures



The Descendants, Screenplay by Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash; Based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemming; Fox Searchlight


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Screenplay by Steven Zaillian; Based on the novel by Stieg Larsson, originally published by Norstedts; Columbia Pictures


The Help, Screenplay by Tate Taylor; Based on the novel by Kathryn Stockett; DreamWorks Pictures


Hugo, Screenplay by John Logan; Based on the book The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick; Paramount Pictures



Screenplay by Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin; Story by Stan Chervin; Based on the book by Michael Lewis; Columbia Pictures



Better This World, Written by Katie Galloway & Kelly Duane de la Vega; Loteria Films


If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front, Written by Marshall Curry and Matthew Hamachek; Oscilloscope Pictures


Nostalgia for the Light, Written by Patricio Guzmán; Icarus Films  


Pina, Screenplay by Wim Wenders; Sundance Selects


Position Among the Stars, Script by Hetty Naaijkens-Retel Helmrich, Leonard Retel Helmrich; HBO Films



Written by Manish Pandey; Producers Distribution AgencySource: THR