Franco, Cruz Win at the Indie Spirit Awards

The Independent Spirit Awards kicked off the night with prizes going out to James Franco and Penelope Cruz  for their supporting roles in Milk and Vicky Cristina Barcelona respectively.

Click Here: Watch Spirit Awards Live & Uncut

The night ended with The Wrestler and Mickey Rourke taking took top honors for best film and lead actor. Melissa Leo, who some may have seen as the under dog, rounded out the night winning best female lead for her performance in Frozen River.

The complete list of nominations & winners:

Best Feature


Frozen River

Rachel Getting Married

Wendy and Lucy

The Wrestler — WINNER!

Best Director

Ramin Bahrani, Chop Shop

Jonathan Demme, Rachel Getting Married

Lance Hammer, Ballast

Courtney Hunt, Frozen River

Thomas McCarthy, The Visitor — WINNER!

Best First Feature


Medicine for Melancholy

Sangre de Mi Sangre

Sleep Dealer

Synecdoche, New York — WINNER!

John Cassavetes Award

In Search of a Midnight Kiss — WINNER!

Prince of Broadway

The Signal

Take Out

Turn the River

Best First Screenplay

Dustin Lance Black, Milk — WINNER!

Lance Hammer, Ballast

Courtney Hunt, Frozen River

Jonathan Levine, The Wackness

Jenny Lumet, Rachel Getting Married

Best Screenplay

Woody Allen, Vicky Christina Barcelona — WINNER!

Anna Fleck and Ryan Boden, Sugar

Charlie Kaufman, Synecdoche, New York

Howard A. Rodman, Savage Grace

Christopher Zalla, Sangre de Mi Sangre

Best Female Lead

Summer Bishil, Towelhead

Anne Hathaway, Rachel Getting Married

Melissa Leo, Frozen River — WINNER!

Tarra Riggs, Ballast

Michelle Williams, Wendy and Lucy

Best Male Lead

Javier Bardem, Vicky Christina Barcelona

Richard Jenkins, The Visitor

Sean Penn, Milk

Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker

Mickey Rourke, The Wrestler — WINNER!

Best Supporting Female

Penelope Cruz, Vicky Christina Barcelona — WINNER!

Rosemarie DeWitt, Rachel Getting Married

Rosie Perez, The Take

Misty Upham, Frozen River

Debra Winger, Rachel Getting Married

Best Supporting Male

James Franco, Milk — WINNER!

Anthony Mackie, The Hurt Locker

Charlie McDermott, Frozen River

JimMyron Ross, Ballast

Haaz Sleiman, The Visitor

Best Cinematography

Maryse Alberti, The Wrestler — WINNER!

Lol Crowley, Ballast

James Laxton, Medicine for Melancholy

Harris Savides, Milk

Michael Simmonds, Chop Shop

Best Documentary

The Betrayal (Nerakhoon)

Encounters at the End of the World

Man on Wire — WINNER!

The Order of Myths

Up the Yangtze

Best Foreign Film

The Class (France) — WINNER!

Gomorrah (Italy)

Hunger (UK/Ireland)

Secret of the Grain (France)

Silent Light (Mexico/France/Netherlands/Germany)

Robert Altman Award: (Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast)

Synecdoche, New York

Director: Charlie Kaufman Casting Director: Jeanne McCarthy

Ensemble Cast: Hope Davis, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Catherine Keener, Samantha Morton, Tom Noonan, Dianne Wiest, Michelle Williams

Someone to Watch Award

Barry Jenkins, Medicine for Melancholy

Nina Paley, Sita Sings the Blues

Lynn Shelton, My Effortless Brilliance — WINNER!

Truer Than Fiction Award

Margaret Brown, The Order of Myths — The WINNER!

Sacha Gervasi, Anvil! The Story of Anvil

Darius Marder, Loot

Producers Award

Lars Knudsen and Joy Van Hoy, Tireless Mountain and I’ll Come Running

Jason Orans, Goodbye Solo and Year of the Fish

Heather Rae, Frozen River and Ibid — WINNER!

MORE NEWS: Is It Puppy Love for ‘Slumdog’ Stars?