Light Mode

London Critics Honor ‘Constant Gardener’ Stars

Ralph Fiennes‘ week took a turn for the better yesterday when the newly-dumped star of The Constant Gardener picked up a Best British Actor nod at the London Film Critics’ Circle awards–while co-star Rachel Weisz triumphed in the female category.

Fiennes, who split from actress Francesca Annis on Tuesday following reports he is romancing a Romanian singer, was hailed for his role in the gritty political thriller.

Gay cowboy romance Brokeback Mountain grabbed an equal share of success with wins for Film of the Year and a Director of the Year award for its maker Ang Lee.

- Advertisement -

Awards chairman William Russell said, “Brokeback Mountain has all the ingredients of a classic love story, except that the lovers are two young ranch hands who fall in love one summer while herding sheep, but go on to marry and have children, while continuing to meet over the years.

Ang Lee has succeeded in presenting this highly controversial situation in an intelligent and sensitive fashion, and secured outstanding performances from the entire cast.

“It is a feat which has been rightly recognized.”

Elsewhere, Downfall star Bruno Ganz picked up Actor of the Year for his mesmerizing portrayal of Nazi leader Adolf Hitler, while Naomi Watts won Actress of the Year for King Kong at the London ceremony.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Film of the Year – Brokeback Mountain

- Advertisement -

Director of the Year – Ang Lee (Brokeback Mountain)

Actress of the Year – Naomi Watts (King Kong)

Actor of the Year – Bruno Ganz (Downfall)

Supporting actress of the Year – Thandie Newton (Crash)

Supporting actor of the Year – Tom Hollander (Pride and Prejudice)

British actress – Rachel Weisz (The Constant Gardener)

- Advertisement -

British actor – Ralph Fiennes (The Constant Gardener)

British newcomer – Kelly Reilly (Mrs. Henderson Presents)

British producer – Simon Channing Williams (The Constant Gardener)

British director – Joe Wright (Pride and Prejudice)

Foreign Language Film of the Year – Downfall

Screenwriter of the Year – Paul Haggis and Bobby Moresco (Crash)

The Attenborough Award – The Constant Gardener

Dilys Powell Award – Bryan Forbes CBE

Article Copyright World Entertainment News Network All Rights Reserved.

- Advertisement -