Sugarland Leads CMT Nominations

Country music stars Sugarland, Taylor Swift and Brad Paisley will lead the way at the 2009 CMT Music Awards, after landing the most nominations.

The country duo — singer-songwriters Jennifer Nettles and Kristian Bush — scooped five nods, closely followed by Swift and Paisley, with four apiece.

Sugarland received two nominations for Duo Video of the Year — for “All I Want to Do” and “Already Gone.” Their video collaboration with Little Big Town and Jake Owen, “Life in a Northern Town,” from last year’s awards show is also nominated for Collaborative Video and CMT Performance of the Year.

Meanwhile, Paisley’s “Waitin’ on a Woman” has landed the singer a nomination for Male Video of the Year. He’s also received nods in the Collaborative Video division and CMT Performance of the Year. And Swift’s “Love Story” has landed her a nomination for Female Video of the Year. Her collaboration with rockers Def Leppard has also earned her recognition in the wide-open Country Video of the Year Category and CMT Performance of the Year.

Sugarland, Paisley and Swift are also on the current shortlist for the Video of the Year prize.

Fans will be allowed to vote online at through June 15 to determine the winners. The final nominees for Video of the Year will be announced at the beginning of the awards-show telecast on the following day.

The 2009 CMT Music Awards, held at the Sommet Center in Nashville, will include performances by Trace Adkins, Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Toby Keith, Brad Paisley, Rascal Flatts, Sugarland, Taylor Swift, Keith Urban and Def Leppard.

(c) 2009 WORLD ENTERTAINMENT NEWS NETWORK LTD. All global rights reserved. No unauthorized copying or re-distributing permitted.

MORE NEWS: Lee’s ‘Earl’ Cancelled