Light Mode

New Music Friday: Songs and Albums to Put on Repeat this Weekend

Happy New Music Friday, Hollywooders! As we reach the halfway point of July, the new music just keeps getting better!

Last week, Vince Staples, Billie Eilish, Justin Bieber, Post Malone, J. Cole, John Legend, and the Jonas Brothers all dropped killer projects while IDK took home the crown for our favorite new music of the week.

Keep reading to hear our reactions to this week’s new music from Pop Smoke, John Mayer, Normani, Cardi B, KSI, WILLOW, Shakira, Dan + Shay, and more!

- Advertisement -

New pop music: “Wild Side” – Normani (feat. Cardi B)

Normani’s post-Fifth Harmony years have been nothing but pure gold. The singer’s newest single, “Wild Side,” sees her team up with rap superstar Cardi B and the pairing couldn’t be better. “Wild Side” expertly samples Aaliyah’s “One in Million” and if this is just a taste of what we could be getting in Normani’s upcoming debut album, we are in for a treat.

I couldn’t have said it any better.

New rap music: All Over the Place – KSI

From YouTube gaming videos to boxing to rapping, KSI is truly the jack of all trades. The English rapper just dropped his second studio album, All Over the Place, and wow does it impress. While the album contains many notable features such as Lil Durk, Anne-Marie, and Polo G, the most impressive features just so happen to also be the biggest names. KSI teams up with 21 Savage and Future on “Number 2” and all three rappers play to their strengths in musical harmony.

- Advertisement -

KSI is playing chess while we’re all playing checkers.

New pop music: “Don’t Wait Up” – Shakira

The wait is over; Shakira is back with a new single and it absolutely slaps! “Don’t Wait Up” sees Shakira reach into her EDM bag as the singer drops her first all-English track in over four years. Produced by Shakira and Ian Kirkpatrick, “Don’t Wait Up” will have you instantly moving your feet as this track is impossible to not dance to.

Shakira found the fountain of youth and needs to drop the directions ASAP.

- Advertisement -

New alternative music: lately I feel EVERYTHING – WILLOW

WILLOW has fully entered the alternative rock scene with her fourth album, lately I feel EVERYTHING. The 20-year-old singer is as confident as ever with her songwriting and acts as a maestro to the album’s handpicked guestlist of Travis Barker, Tierra Whack, Avril Lavigne, and more.

I already bought my ticket ?️

New country music: “Good Things” – Dan + Shay

Country superstars Dan + Shay will be releasing their fourth studio album next month and as a gift to fans, they just dropped the album’s titular single “Good Things.” The angelic song will surely dominate airwaves in the weeks to come, however the upcoming album, Good Things, already has some bops of its own. Currently sitting at number 11 on the album’s tracklist is “10,00 Hours (with Justin Bieber).” The 2019 track won a GRAMMY for Best Country Duo/Group Performance after topping the Country charts for 21 weeks.

I mean who isn’t????

New pop music: Sob Rock – John Mayer

John Mayer was born to make music in the ‘80s and his eighth studio album, Sob Rock, proves that. The legendary singer and guitarist perfectly executes his lifelong passion project as Sob Rock doesn’t shy away from letting its influences be known. The ten-track album will forever be a roadtrip staple for any John Mayer or ‘80s rock fan.

Sob Rock is a MOOD.

New rap music: Faith – Pop Smoke

Just one year after the release of his first posthumous album, Shoot For the Stars, Aim For the Moon, we are given an entirely new Pop Smoke album in the form of Faith. The latest Pop Smoke album is absolutely stacked with features. Some of the A-list talent that appears on the Brooklyn rapper’s new project are Kanye West, Pusha T, Rick Ross, The-Dream, 42 Dugg, 21 Savage, Takeoff, Chris Brown, Pharrell, Kid Cudi, Dua Lipa, Kodak Black, and Quavo.

After the massive success of Shoot For the Stars, Aim For the Moon, no one thought we’d ever get another Pop Smoke album, let alone one as killer as Faith, which is why it’s our pick for favorite new music of the week.

PAIN ???

Did you listen to any of this week’s newest releases? Let us know what you listened to and who you think had the best new release by tagging us on Twitter!

More Entertainment News Like This: 2021 Emmy Nominations Break Records in Diversity

More Entertainment News Like This: 11 Thoughts After Seeing ‘Zola’ at Alamo Drafthouse in Brooklyn

Hollywood.com is a place where entertainment news actually entertains you. We’re sharing the good in Hollywood, spotlighting the feel-good stories that matter about any and every kind of celeb. Be a part of the good in Hollywood in your very own neighborhood with our movie ticketing app (coming soon!) that gives you a whole new way to buy movie tickets. Compare movie showtimes, movie theaters, and seats near you in seconds. Follow us on Instagram for more feel-good celeb stories.

Check out previous music releases here:

New rap music: Vince Staples – Vince Staples

After nearly a three-year hiatus, Vince Staples is back and better than ever with his self-titled fourth studio album, Vince Staples. The Long Beach rapper chooses quality over quantity as every song is perfectly sculpted and placed within this 22-minute runtime.

Additionally, Vince Staples reunites with long-time friend and collaborator Kenny Beats for the entire production of Vince Staples. The rapper’s return is definitely worth the wait as Vince Staples is the Long Beach native’s most cohesive project to date.

Isaiah Rashad is vibing with Vince Staples’ new album and so are we. ??

New pop music: “NDA” – Billie Eilish

Billie Eilish keeps her foot on the pedal as she releases her fifth single from her upcoming album, Happier Than Ever. The pop star’s newest track is titled “NDA” and once again features killer production from her brother and frequent collaborator, FINNEAS.

“NDA” is a perfect accompaniment to the previously released Happier Than Ever singles as it features lyrics about Billie Eilish’s transition to worldwide fame, which now requires having “pretty boys” sign a nondisclosure agreement.

With an unworldly vocal performance and superb production, “NDA” has us super excited for Happier Than Ever’s release.