Jeff Bridges to receive Cecil B. DeMille Award at Golden Globes

Jeff Bridges to receive Cecil B. DeMille Award at Golden Globes


Jeff Bridges is to be honored with the Cecil B. Demille Award at the 2019 Golden Globes.

Officials at the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) announced on Monday (17Dec18) that the two-time Golden Globe winner will be presented with the prestigious prize at the upcoming awards ceremony on 6 January 2019.

“The Hollywood Foreign Press Association is delighted to bestow the 2019 Cecil B. DeMille Award on Jeff Bridges,” HFPA president Meher Tatna said in a statement. “Bridges‘ brilliant body of work across diverse genres has captured the hearts and minds of audiences worldwide for more than six decades. We look forward to celebrating ‘the Dude’ and his remarkable career and philanthropic achievements at the upcoming Golden Globe Awards.”

Over the course of his career, Bridges has won recognition for his parts in films such as The Last Picture Show, True Grit, and Seabiscuit, as well as his 1998 cult favorite flick The Big Lebowski, in which he played Jeffrey “The Dude” Lebowski.

The 69-year-old received his first Golden Globe nomination for his role in 1984’s Starman, and was later nominated for 2000’s The Contender and 2016’s Hell or High Water. He won Golden Globes for his performances in The Fisher King in 1992 and for Crazy Heart in 2010.

Additionally, Bridges produced Hidden in America via his AsIs Productions company, with the project receiving a Golden Globe nomination in 1997 for Best Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television.

Chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors, the Cecil B. DeMille Award is given annually to a talented individual who has made a “lasting impact” on the world of entertainment.

Those previously honored with the prize include George Clooney, Harrison Ford, Robert De Niro, Jodie Foster, Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg, Meryl Streep, Denzel Washington, and Oprah Winfrey, among others.

HFPA officials have also created the Carol Burnett Award which will recognize special achievement in television. The inaugural honorary prize will be given to its namesake Carol Burnett in January.