Jaws writer lands WGA honour

Gottlieb will be presented with the Morgan Cox Award at an awards ceremony held by the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) in Los Angeles on 20 February (10).

The screenwriter served on the WGAW board of directors from 1983-1991 and 1996-2002, and as vice-president from 1991-1995 and 2004-2005. He also served as the chair of the International Affiliation of Writers Guilds (IAWG) from 2005 through 2009.

Gottlieb’s other film and television credits include Which Way is Up?, The Jerk, Dr. Detroit, The Odd Couple and The Andy Griffith Show.