Tribeca Film Fest Winners Announced

Winners of the second annual Tribeca Film Festival were announced at the Stuyvesant High School Auditorium in Tribeca Sunday, with French director Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi taking the prize for emerging narrative feature filmmaker for her Italo-French comedy, It’s Easier For a Camel…. The comedy revolves around a walthy woman, Frederica, whose money is keeping her a prisoner rather than giving her a life of ease.

The French director also stars in the pic and walked away with best actress honors, Variety reports. Tedeschi collected a $25,000 prize for her film plus six months of services from PMK/HBH Public Relations.

Igor Bares won the actor category for his role in Some Secrets, along with Ohad Knoller in the Israeli army love story Yossi & Jagger.

Tribeca also honored Li Yang‘s tale of Chinese mine workers, Blind Shaft, which won the Silver Bear award at Berlin earlier this year.

In the documentary category, Mohamed Zran won the prize for emerging documentary feature filmmaker for Song for the Millennium. The prize includes $25,000 and six months of services from PR firm PMK/HBH.

Prize for documentaries by directors with two or less previous films went to Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Hugo Berkeley for A Normal Life, with honorable mentions going to Laura Gabbert’s Sunset Story and Francesca Comencini for Carlo Giuliani, a Boy.

For directors with more than two previous features, Moslem Mansouri won for Trial with Nick Broomfield and Joan Churchill picking up an honorable mention for Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer.

The winners picked up $25,000 worth of services from Technicolor Creative Services New York.

The documentary short film award went to Harvey Wang for Milton Rogovin: The Forgotten Ones.

Lars Daniel Krutzkoff Jacobsen won the narrative short film category with Precious Moments, and Richard Linklater’s Live From Shava’s Dance Floor received a special citation.

The Budweiser/ audience award for feature film went to the documentary by David G. Berger, Holly Maxson and Kate Hirson, Keeping Time: The Life, Music & Photographs of Milt Hinton and Chen Kaige for Together. Both films will share the $25,000 prize.

The MTV Films Award for student visionary film went to Enrico Kahn for Make Up.

Presenters at this year’s festival included Martin Scorsese, Kevin Spacey, Whoopi Goldberg, Parker Posey, Nora Ephron, Sheila Nevins, Fisher Stevens and Sandra Bernhard.